From Ban the N-Word

BN-W eNewsletter #64

Posted in: eNews 2006
Jun 8, 2006 - 2:12:19 PM



In celebration of our second year anniversary – which was on May 29th – we decided it was time to set up a Ban the N-Word Web site.   There are some light editing and formatting adjustments that we’re updating.   But we wanted to go ahead and officially launch the BN-W site without further delay, so we hope you enjoy it and find it informative and navigation friendly!   Here it is:

To kickoff our third year, we’ll continue focusing on monitoring movies and music.   As promised previously (BN-W #55), due to the extreme miseducation that’s occurring within the school systems about African history – and thus world history – we’re going to also focus on scholars who’ve chosen to spend their professional life exposing true world history.   In addition to the scholars we provided in BN-W #55, here are just a few more from the many who are out there that many of us don’t hear or know about.   For additional information on these scholars and many others, see the Africa Within and Brother Baruti Kafele’s suggested readings (BN-W #63) links listed below:

Marimba Ani

Jacob Carruthers

George G.M. James

Leonard Jeffries

Amos Wilson  
[1988 Interview with Gary Byrd – Part I]  
[1988 Interview with Gary Byrd – Part II]

As another part of our kickoff, we wanted to share some of our favorite Web sites with you.   We’ll eventually link these and others to the BN-W site, but until then, here are just a few:  
[Africa Within Site Index]  
[Brother Baruti Kafele’s Suggested Readings]


BN-W Monitor Coming Soon:  “Waist Deep” [Tyrese Gibson]; “Idlewild” [Andre Benjamin, Antwan Patton, Terrence Howard]; “Shadowboxer” [Cuba Gooding Jr.]; “The Fast and the Furious 3:   Tokyo Drift” [Bow Wow]; “Little Man” [Shawn Wayans, Marlon Wayans]; “Miami Vice” [Jamie Foxx, Colin Farrell]; “Snakes on A Plane” [Samuel L. Jackson, Julianna Margulies]

Also Coming :   Part II:   Black-Jewish Relations; Winter 2006 Music Monitor; Spring 2006 Music Monitor; Summer 2006 Music Monitor

© Copyright 2008 by Ban the N-Word